New Michigan Minimum Wage Rates Effective as of January 2016
A Workplace Law Client Alert
Bodman’s Workplace Law Group wishes all our clients and friends a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year. We are reminding everyone that, under Michigan’s Workforce Opportunity Wage Act1, the Michigan minimum wage rate increased to $8.50 per hour effective January 1, 2016. The minimum wage for tipped employees increased to $3.23. Tipped employees must make at least $8.50 per hour with tips and regular wages included.
Newly employed teenagers between the ages of 16 and 19 may be paid a minimum wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of their employment. Employees ages 16 and 17 may be paid at least $7.25 per hour, which is the federal minimum wage rate.
If you have any questions about the minimum wage rate in Michigan or in other states, or if you have questions related to other employment issues, please feel free to contact any member of our Workplace Law Group.
1 Public Act 138 of 2014
Please contact any member of the Workplace Law Group to discuss solutions to your workplace legal concerns.